Welcome to the Committee on Utilities and Energy

Committee Jurisdiction: Primary jurisdictions are California Energy Commission; California Independent System Operator; California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC); CPUC oversight and reform; Electric generation: biogas, biomass, coal, geothermal, hydroelectric, natural gas, nuclear, renewables, solar, and wind; Electric grid; Energy efficiency, energy conservation, and demand response; Energy service providers; Natural Gas; Power plant siting; Railroads; Supplier diversity related to CPUC regulated energy, water, and railroad; Utility rates: electric, gas, water, and vessels; Water utilities.

The Utilities and Energy Committee is located in Room 5132 and the phone number is (916) 319-2083.

Please see information and resources below during the coronavirus (COVID-19) crisis:
The California Municipal Utilities Association put together this webpage. They are continuing to update it as they get more information from their members.   

The investor owned utilities also have information available on their websites:


    Assembly Member Chris Holden, Chair

    Assembly Member Chris R. Holden, Chair of the Utilities and Energy Committee

    Assembly Member Jim Patterson, Vice Chair

    Assembly Member Jim Patterson,Vice Chair of the Utilities and Energy Committee

    For information on how to submit a position letter please see the 
    Advocacy Quick Reference Guide
    Submit Position Letter

    COVID-19 Information

    Due to the statewide stay-at-home order and guidance on physical distancing, seating for committee hearings will be very limited for press and for the public. All are encouraged to watch our hearing from its live stream on the Assembly’s website at https://www.assembly.ca.gov/todaysevents.

    We encourage the public to submit written testimony before the hearing through the Position Letter web portal. Please note that any written testimony submitted to the committee is considered public comment and may be read into the record or reprinted.

    The Capitol will be open for attendance of committee hearings, but the public is strongly encouraged to participate via the web portal or telephonically.

    Information regarding a call-in option for testimony will be made available on the committee website closer to the hearing date. We encourage the public to monitor the committee’s website for updates.

    Committee Room
    Contact Information

    Assembly Utilities and Energy Committee
    State Capitol, Room 5132
    Sacramento, California 95814
    916.319.2083 phone
    916.319.3099 fax
    Members & Staff

    Copyright © 2011 State of California